Generic Voting ballot

Candidate filing appears to be slowing down in Burke County.

One incumbent filed on Thursday. No one filed on Wednesday.

Wayne Annas filed for re-election to the Rutherford College Town Council.

Candidate filing ends at noon Friday, July 19.

Candidates who have previously filed are:

Morganton —  

Mayor: Ronnie Thompson

District 2: Chris Jernigan and Larry Whisnant

District 1: Sidney Simmons


Council: Matthew Church


Ward 1: Andy Thompson

Ward 4: Frances Hildebran

Ward 5: Keith Ogle


Alderman, unexpired seat: Matt Johnson

  Rutherford College

James Huffman Jr.

  Board of Education

Eastern District: Randy Burns

Central District: Don Hemstreet

Western District: Edna Weller and Kelvin Beam Sr.

At-large District: R.L. Icard

 The seats up for grabs in Burke County are:

Burke County Board of Education

» At-large — Incumbent R.L. Icard.

» Central District — Incumbent Don Hemstreet.

» Eastern District — Incumbent Randy Burns.

» Western District — Incumbent Edna Weller.

The filing fee is $20.


» Morganton — Mayor (Incumbent is Ronnie Thompson); District 1 council seat (Incumbent is Sidney Simmons); District 2 council seat (Incumbent Forrest Fleming). The filing fee is $20

» Connelly Springs — Three aldermen seats are open (Incumbents are Ramona Duncan, Steve Smart and an open seat). The filing fee is $5.

» Drexel — Mayor (Incumbent is Danny Ritchie). The filing fee is $10; Two alderman seats (Incumbents are Rick Cline and Terry Yount). The filing fee is $5.

» Glen Alpine — Two alderman seats (Incumbents are Jack Falls and Rodney Cox). The filing fee is $5.

» Hildebran — Two council seats (Incumbents are Theresa Messer and Jody York). The filing fee is $5.

» Rutherford College — Three council seats (Incumbents are James Huffman, Mark Stinson and Wayne Annas). The filing fee $5.

» Valdese — Ward 1, unexpired term (Incumbent is Andy Thompson), Ward 4 (Incumbent is Frances Hildebran) and Ward 5 (Incumbent is Keith Ogle) seats are open. The filing fee for a council seat is $10.

» Rhodhiss — Two town commissioner seats open (Incumbents are Rachel Pace and William Allen Spencer). The filing fee is $5. Anyone who lives in Burke County and wants to file for any of the seats has to file with the Burke County Board of Elections.

» Hickory — Ward 1 (Incumbent is Brad Lail), Ward 2 (Incumbent is Charlotte Williams), Ward 3 (Incumbent is Danny Seaver). The filing fee is $12. Anyone who lives in Burke County and wants to file for any of the seats has to file with the Burke County Board of Elections.

Sharon McBrayer is a staff writer and can be reached at or at 828-432-8946.

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.