SAWMILLS — The Patton wrestling team swept a nonconference quad match hosted by South Caldwell on Tuesday night, improving to 6-0 on the young season and with a tournament title already under its belt.


The Panthers defeated the host Spartans in the evening’s closest match, 52-30, though they never trailed.

Gaining PHS wins were Tanner Thompson (220 pounds; first-period pin), Reid Pons (106; first-period pin), Mariano Mendez (113; second-period pin), Sawyer James (126; 16-1 tech fall), Dilan Patton (132; 19-1 tech fall), Jerry Sarath (138; second-period pin), Kegan Burris (152; first-period pin), Eliseo Ramirez (160; 14-12 decision) and Kaleb Spann (170; first-period pin).

Patton also defeated Draughn, 72-12, for its second in-county win of the year and topped Hickory, 78-6, twice nearly tying last week’s school-record for points in a dual.

Mendez (who also wrestled at 106), James, Patton, Sarath, Burris, Ramirez, Spann and Thompson all finished 3-0 on the night.

“We had some young kids wrestling tonight,” Patton coach Gianni Niglio said. “Some other wrestlers had to step up tonight and get the job done. I told the kids, Thanksgiving turkey would be a whole lot better going in 6-0. Proud of everyone on the team.”

Draughn (1-2) also fell to South, 78-6, and defeated Hickory (no score available). The Wildcats’ three total match wins against Patton and South came via Tucker Sisk (120; first-period pin and second period pin) and Bryan Sanchez (285; third-period pin). Sisk went 3-0 on the night.

“Congrats to our wrestlers on their team win over Hickory tonight,” DHS coach Billy Abee said. “Several (other) wrestlers went 2-1 in the quad. .... Keep working hard and improving.”


Freedom at W. Caldwell quad

The Patriots opened the season by taking two of three matches Tuesday at a nonconference quad in Gamewell. Freedom downed the host Warriors, 60-23, and beat Southlake Christian, 48-30, but lost 62-9 against Newton-Conover.

Emily Propst (106; three forfeits) was Freedom’s lone 3-0 grappler on the evening. Winning twice each were Davion Lowdermilk (120; pin, forfeit), Beckham Ixchajchal (132; pin, forfeit), Kalvin Khang (160; decision, third-period pin), Jesus Lopez (182; two forfeits) and Kevin Augusta-Hernandez (285; two forfeits).

FHS’ Jesse Morales (126), Thomas Dove (138) and Isaac Searcy (145) each won one match by pinfall, while Daniel Lopez (170), Armando Andres (195) and Fredy Vicente-Perez (220) won once by forfeit.


The News Herald sports department can be reached at

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.